• Please log in to reply
248 replies to this topic

#1 al69

al69

• General Public Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 26 October 2005 - 05:38 PM

i was wondering what type of rocket would be best for lifting headers. i have made two types.
one type is where the rocket is long burning and continues to accelerate throught the burn but stops rising right after the rocket has finished burning
the other type is a fast burning rocket that burns very quickly but continues to rise a while afterwards, obviosly when its rising without propulsion its less stable.

so which one do you guys think is the best to use with a header?.
thanks
check out my ebay sales
http://search.ebay.c...ssZpyromaster69

#2 minalth

minalth

• General Public Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 27 October 2005 - 11:46 AM

I have no experience, but would assume that the slower one would be better, and they look nicer too :)
If you must argue, remember that it is impossible to defeat an ignorant man in argument.

#3 Jerronimo

Jerronimo

Pyro Forum Regular

• General Public Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 345 posts

Posted 27 October 2005 - 11:54 AM

Coreburning rockets are the type to use, when designed right they are able to cary huge payloads.
For example: I make 17mm I.D. rockets with 33 grams of green powder
and they are able to carry a 150 gram payload(3'' shell) to a very respectable height.
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both."

#4 al69

al69

• General Public Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 27 October 2005 - 10:39 PM

both are core burning. the only difference is that one has a large diameter core and nozzle and the other one has a smaller nozzle size and smaller core. should i just go with the first type? the large core and large nozzle (burns v fast rises for a while after) as this should be able to lift more
check out my ebay sales
http://search.ebay.c...ssZpyromaster69

#5 Maineiac

Maineiac