18 replies to this topic

#1 vaslop2005

vaslop2005

• General Public Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts

Posted 20 June 2010 - 11:21 AM

Hi guys,
I am new to the world of pyro forums and would like to ask for some advice from you experienced hobbyists.

I've been making small scale fireworks, and experimenting with colour formulas. making many of my own formulations for interesting effects, untill recently (when I got back into pyro after 6 months of leaving it) for a reason unknown to me, all my blues stopped working (even the usually great Conkling #1). I've tried to eliminate as many variables in my chemicals as I can, without fruition.

KClO4--66.1 CuO--13.4 Parlon--10.7 Red gum--9.8 Dextrin--5

I recrystallized my KClO4, and even bought some new stock, I've tried two separate batches of copper oxide, and even replaced the oxide with carbonate, I tried excluding the dextrin. Leaving only the parlon or red gum.

am I missing something? or is it just something I'm doing?

Thanks

#2 pyrotechnist

pyrotechnist

firework making is my aim, setting off is my game

• General Public Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,126 posts

Posted 20 June 2010 - 11:27 AM

Try using hexamine instead as it is a cooler fuel with the added bonus of increasing the flame envelope.
fireworks is my aim setting of is the game

#3 vaslop2005

vaslop2005

• General Public Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts

Posted 20 June 2010 - 03:15 PM

Try using hexamine instead as it is a cooler fuel with the added bonus of increasing the flame envelope.

I will try this. But does anyone know why this is becoming a problem? or has anyone else had this problem before?

#4 a_bab

a_bab

• General Public Members
  • PipPip
  • 170 posts

Posted 20 June 2010 - 03:32 PM

Please post more info. What does it mean your blue stopped working? Is it greenish? Or maybe it's a washed out blue? Did you observe it from distance or from close?