10 replies to this topic

#1 LuMpY

LuMpY

• General Public Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 02 February 2004 - 08:25 PM

Hello
This is my first time writing on this forum, and I would like to say how much the archives have helped me in researching pyrotechnics. I have a couple of qestions to clear a few things up.
I have been reading about making stars and I was wondering what would be the best core for a tiger tail comp, or does it matter?
Also I should be able to get ball bearings from a friend, they are steel, but totally covered in chrome. Does anyone know if this will spark? :unsure:

Jason H

#2 Yugen-biki

Yugen-biki

Pyro is forever

• General Public Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 384 posts

Posted 02 February 2004 - 08:57 PM

As a beginner start makeing cut stars. Rolling stars are maby not for beginners. I use sugar pellets but you can use seeds or something round-ish foud in the citchen. Lead cores may be used for the beginner but is dangerous when it comes back down from the sky! And it?s poisones.

Chrome will spark i quess. I am not sure though. To be on the safe side never mill ingredients together and clean the milling-jar after each chemical. A roul of thumb is to never mill a composition!

Wellcome to the art of fireworks!
/John

#3 dfk

dfk

• General Public Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts

Posted 02 February 2004 - 09:07 PM

I have been reading about making stars and I was wondering what would be the best core for a tiger tail comp, or does it matter?

Hellow lumpy

Your best bet for a charcoal firedust comp, tigertail being one of them is to skip the rolling part and just make cut stars. good choice on begginers comp, these stars are easy fairly safe and give a nice effect.

Just roll your damp comp out on some wax paper, cut into close to even squares as possible and dump into a bowl of meal to prime. thats it, besides letting them dry of course.