• Please log in to reply
1235 replies to this topic

#1 Damo

Damo

• General Public Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 May 2003 - 09:15 PM

Hi all. It's time to pick your brains. I want to know if and where you can buy chemicals from and if it is legal to have these for private use. Chemicals like those used in black powder. those use in stars. Also is there anywhere where you can buy the tools to mix the chemicals like ball miller's etc. Any help you can give me would be brilliant. I'm new to this and want to learn. If there's any books you think a learner could do with reading or site's that should be visited please let know. Cheers, keep up the good work. Damo

#2 bernie

bernie

Pyro Forum Regular

• General Public Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 457 posts

Posted 19 May 2003 - 04:12 AM

As many as you can afford. Lots of smart people on the forum. They can help. Read those books like your life depended upon it. Then start very small. Safety NEVER hurts.

Edited by BigG, 08 March 2006 - 08:27 AM.

#3 BigG

BigG

Pyro Forum Top Trump

• General Public Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts

Posted 20 May 2003 - 10:59 AM

Damo, in the site, there are a few mentions about where you can obtain chemicals. Search the columns well.

In general, the basic materials you need (for example, those needed to create your first fountain) are readily available either as fertilizers, scrap, or at art suppliers. Storing such materials by nature is legal (there is no law preventing you from storing few kilos of fertilizers). However, when mixing those with the intent to create an explosive composition (and fireworks are small explosions controlled and designed by their makers), you move into the next category, which bring onto you the attention of the law.

The UK law allows the mixing of small quantity of pyrotechnic composition for the purpose of experiment. The law does not define how small is ?small quantity? but probably a few grams of low-level compositions are allowed.