• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 bone

bone

• General Public Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 June 2005 - 04:29 PM

I am curious to learn more about real flame effects.

As a bit of background, (and hopefully to indicate that I am not some teenaged numpty looking to blow myself up!)
I am a electro/mechanical engineer by education and trade, with an interest in pyro. (I am certified to BPA level 2 if that counts for anything).
I have been looking at the propane flame effects that are used in various situations, and wondered if anybody here could recommend where to find out more about how these effects are created, and what safeguards are needed in the construction of a propane flame unit.

Are there any regulatory bodies that would cover the design and construction of a FX flame unit? I realise there are commercial units on the market, Dragonfire? etc, however I am curious as to what is actually involved in manufacturing a safe, repeatable propane effect. Where would I go, what could I read to find out more on this subject.

I see the effects used in film and television, and fixed installations in theme parks etc, where would one learn this branch of engineering.

Please do not answer this post with a barrage of flames (pun intended) saying "Don't do it unless you are trained", as I am not "doing it" I am just trying to find out how and where one could become trained, and what would represent that training. (formal qualifications?)

#2 Arthur Brown

Arthur Brown

General member

• UKPS Members
  • 2,923 posts

Posted 02 June 2005 - 06:29 PM

Talk to Potterton or similar and research the gas valve used in a cantral heating boiler that gives you pilot light cantrol and main flame control and cut-off in case of pilot failure
http://www.movember.com/uk/home/

Keep mannequins and watermelons away from fireworks..they always get hurt..

#3 adamw

adamw

An old Leodensian

• General Public Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,297 posts