• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 nick.shaw

nick.shaw

• General Public Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 July 2003 - 10:36 PM

Hi everyone, i am kind of new to pyrotechnics but have a good grounding in (A-Level) chemistry and admit to attempting :flames:HE manufacture

i have decided to settle down with fireworks from now on:D

anyway....to the point.

In my opinion the little strobe effect is the king of fireworks but all my attempts have failed
:(HELP:(

#2 bernie

bernie

Pyro Forum Regular

• General Public Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 457 posts

Posted 08 July 2003 - 10:53 PM

What composition are you using?:)

#3 adamw

adamw

An old Leodensian

• General Public Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,297 posts

Posted 09 July 2003 - 09:14 PM

You need some pretty narly chemicals for strobes, but please elaborate on the problem. Saying you tried it and it doesnt work isnt enough for us to work with!!

#4 nickisback

nickisback

• General Public Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 July 2003 - 10:45 PM

sorry bout the wait on my return but forgot password it seems. (hence the new username)

i have been using flash powder layers separated with layers of paper soaked in potassium nitrate then dried to provide a slow and darker burning medium between each flash. experimenting with layers of paper got me anywhere from a large bang (and crater) to a series of flashes separated by seconds but not the lightning fast strobes.

the paper medium also generates too much light:(

cant really think of another way to achieve that :(

still the bang was fun :arse:

Nick

#5 bernie

bernie

Pyro Forum Regular

• General Public Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 457 posts

Posted 12 July 2003 - 11:01 PM

That's not really how they make a strobe composition. I can tell you this....the frequency of the flash can be regulated a couple of different ways. One is particle size and the other is an excess of one of the constituents. That's what I'm familiar with anyhow.