• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 JinxStar

JinxStar

• General Public Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 13 July 2003 - 06:15 AM

Hello, Im fairly new to the art of pyrotechnics. I had a question about an oxidizer. I need to burn magnesium. Since it needs such a high temperature, I was going to use Potassium Perchlorate to ignite the magnesium. My research says Potassium Perchlorate starts to burn at around 610-650 Celsius. Will the Potassium Perchlorate reach its combustion point with some simple Visco safety fuse? If not any input would be appreciated. Im unaware how hot that type of fuse burns. Rather than find out the hard way and waste material or do something stupid, I wanted to ask. :)

Basically im looking for a material I can use to start the magnesium. And that doesn't require a high temperature itself to start. Im not sure if I have all my terms correct. Simply put, Im looking for an oxidizer or material I can ignite with Visco safety fuse, which will reach a high enough temperature to ignite some pure magnesium. .. Sorry this is so long. Thanks for reading it and any help or information is welcome.

[Edited on 14-7-2003 by Richard H]

#2 Matt

Matt

Another Aussie Trying To take Over

• General Public Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 396 posts

Posted 13 July 2003 - 06:17 AM

Umm, potassium perchlorate doesnt burn mate.

#3 JinxStar

JinxStar

• General Public Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 13 July 2003 - 06:25 AM

I read that Potassium Perchlorate does. But either way, that's why im asking before I try anything, mate. :)

Even if it doesn't all I need is a material that will burn at a temperature high enough to ignite the magnesium, but itself can be ignited with some simple Visco.

#4 Matt

Matt

• General Public Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 396 posts

Posted 13 July 2003 - 07:11 AM