• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Sam Miller

Sam Miller

• General Public Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 02 September 2012 - 04:17 PM

I've made many a star before but I'm new to the making of comets.

Can anyone suggest an easy simple comet formula to make?

They will be 22mm

Cheers

Sam :)
I am a artist in many ways but I can not draw...

http://www.youtube.c...0123legoman3210

#2 Sparky

Sparky

Pyro Forum Regular

• General Public Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 458 posts

Posted 02 September 2012 - 04:42 PM

There will be far more experienced people along with good advice soon I'm sure but here's my 2 cents.

I'd start with a nice simple tiger tail type formula and experiment with the charcoal mesh. Or even try some titanium / ferro-titanium too.

Basic Tiger tail
Potassium nitrate 44
Sulphur 6
Charcoal 44
Dextrin 6

I use wet mixing initially so the KNO3 soaks into the Charcoal, I'm not sure if that really makes a huge difference but I've had good results. I also sometimes use about 75% air float and 25% 60 mesh as it increases the duration of the tail. It won't pump nicely with too much moisture so I let it dry first and then get it to the right dampness for pumping.

I also use a home made comet pump made from PVC pipe and jubilee clips though for 1.5 inch comets. I've cut the pipe down one side so the clips hold it in shape and after pressing the comp I have to loosen the clips to get the comet out. Anything smaller just looks like a single shot candle to me.

You need to make sure the comet is nice and hard and let it dry well. A good binder is vital I find or they come apart during the lift.

I've also converted a silver waterfall formula by adding plenty of red gum as a binder and that works brilliantly too. You just nee to make sure the burn rate is right for the air time.

#3 Sam Miller

Sam Miller

• General Public Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 02 September 2012 - 07:32 PM