#1 Stevesloan

Stevesloan

• General Public Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 December 2014 - 11:11 PM

I own a co2 powered gun that fires 400fps
I wish to make some targets such as what the brand firebird makes
I would like to ask a question please and hopefully receive some interesting positive answers

I need some/a product then when hit/striked could release a colourful smoke.... And possibly a bang

Amateurs use match heads and a smoke bomb grinded up
But this wouldn't make a bang however as I'm a newbie and just learning I'm searching for some available uk products/ ingredients to make match heads or similar to make a friction compound that when fired at upon impact would ignite the smoke bomb material / chemical and produce a nice puff of smoke with a bang if possible
Ps I wish to use this mixture to make small discs like bottle cap size for use in a home back garden

#2 Arthur Brown

Arthur Brown

General member

• UKPS Members
  • 2,923 posts

Posted 27 December 2014 - 12:10 PM

IIRC exploding targets are available retail from gun shops.

http://www.movember.com/uk/home/

Keep mannequins and watermelons away from fireworks..they always get hurt..

#3 Arthur Brown

Arthur Brown

General member

• UKPS Members
  • 2,923 posts

Posted 27 December 2014 - 05:49 PM

I can usually buy fireworks much cheaper than making them. A three inch shell by the box into my store is about £2.00 the ingredients cost more than that then there is the small matter of the time taken.

#4 helix

helix

• UKPS Members
  • 151 posts

Posted 27 December 2014 - 07:05 PM

Have a look at Copper Oxide/ Aluminium thermite.  You should get a bang and some smoke - not coloured though.  Be careful with it as it is impact sensitive and don't use too much!.

#5 Arthur Brown

Arthur Brown

General member

• UKPS Members
  • 2,923 posts

Posted 27 December 2014 - 07:13 PM